Despite the fact that we have only been in class for a week, I have already began to notice a difference on how I view food and what I eat. So far the biggest change has been that now I find myself wondering where my food comes from. Before I enrolled in this course I had always attempted to eat “healthy” or what I had considered to be healthy but I had never actually researched or looked into what I ate. My idea of “healthy” had always been not eating chicken nuggets at McDonalds or refraining from stuffing my face with a batch of cookies after dinner. I had a general idea of what foods were bad for me, i.e. hot dogs, fried dough, those god awful twinkie cakes, but I never knew to what extent. As I ate on campus this week with my roommate (SARAH JANTSCH) I found myself continually questioning the food I considered putting on my plate. Were these peas fresh or did they come from a frozen package? How much of this chicken is really corn? Is that butter that they use to grease the grill? (Yes, indeed it is.) Although I may have began questioning the food I consume, that has yet to stop me from eating eight flavors of ice cream last night at dinner. I’m not sorry. Maybe one day I will implement changes in my diet but for now, I’m going to savor my last couple blissful days of food ignorance.

 

One issue that I am particularly interested in is the meat industry and what is put into the “meat” that I eat. My roommate (SARAH JANTSCH) has been a vegan for three years and when we go out to eat I sometimes receive the occasional frown as she watches me pig out. (Literally!) Although I can understand how she might have been a bit disgusted when she watched me smoother my crab legs in butter at the Christmas dinner, I never truly understood what was so horrible about eating a hunk of meaty crab. That is until I began reading the food blogs. In the January tenth post in foodpolitics.com there was an article concerning antibiotics put into farm animals. The copious amounts of antibiotics given to farm animals to promote growth is then released into our bodies once consumed. In return, these high levels of antibiotics in our systems then are “ineffective to human disease.” The FDA currently has asked the meat and poultry industry to voluntarily reduce the amounts of antibiotics but in reality that means practically nothing. Upon reading this I began to question the meat I eat myself. Although I love meat, it’s delicious, but how much of the meat that I eat is really….well meat? I’m sure that ready or not, I’m going to find out.

