Now that I am now a locavore, I better learn more about my founding father. My professor (JESSICA EPSTEIN) suggested that I research Michael Pollan, so naturally I wiki-ed the dude. Michael Pollan has written numerous books on the food system and healthy eating, The Omnivore’s Dilemma being the most celebrated of his works. I also found out that Pollan is a writer for The New York Times so I then proceeded to research some of his magazine articles. The article “THE FOOD & DRINK ISSUE; Mysteries Solved, Riddles Explained and Readers’ Questions Answered” really stuck out to me for Pollan answered commonly asked questions that locavores such as myself (DANIELLE HUSCHER) are interested in. One issue that really stuck out to me was the high costs of organic food. Being a college student facing four years worth of accumulating debt, I’m not exactly rolling in the dough and therefore paying copious amounts of cashola on organic food is out of the question. So why is organic food so expensive? Pollan explained that the demand for yummy healthy food exceeds the supply since there aren’t that many small farmers out there. Also, the government gives no subsidies to organic farmers, which basically means that the government wants us all to be miserable and unhealthy. Lastly farming without chemicals is more labor intensive and more laborers would be needed in order to bring the price of organic food down. Too bad Americans refuse to work out in the fields. To summarize my findings in this article, more or less Michael Pollan is telling me to get a job because without one my life as a locavore will be without a doubt a fleeting one. http://query.nytimes.com/gst/fullpage.html?res=9E01EFDD1231F931A35753C1A9679D8B63&ref=michaelpollan&pagewanted=1

